DC vs MI WPL Final Highlights 2023: 3 Final-Game Moments That Fans Were Buzzing About – Gyaani Mind

DC vs MI WPL Final Highlights

DC vs MI WPL Final Highlights 2023: 3 Final-Game Moments That Fans Were Buzzing About – Gyaani Mind


DC vs MI WPL Final Highlights: On Sunday, March 26, at the Brabourne (CCI), Mumbai Indians (MI) won the first Women’s Premier League (WPL) championship after overcoming a challenging challenge from Delhi Capitals (DC). The excitement it created when Harmanpreet Kaur ultimately defeated Meg Lanning in a knockout game was deserving of a championship.

A pivotal 52-run stand between Radha Yadav and Shikha Pandey gave Delhi’s sputtering batting performance some relief. The 132-point goal suddenly appeared to be much more challenging as MI dropped both of their openers early.

DC vs MI WPL Final Highlights: Yet, it was their seasoned middle-order that once more rescued them out of a jam and gave them the WPL 2023 victory. Let’s look at the three instances that received a lot of attention from followers on social media in light of that

Shafali Verma’s Controversial Decision: DC vs MI WPL Final Highlights

In the championship game, Shafali Verma appeared to be in the mood to dismantle MI’s bowling lineup. She attempted to smash another full toss outside the off stump after hitting a six and a four off Issy Wong in the second over. Verma, though, was only able to throw it directly into the fielder at point.

The third umpire was consulted when the middle batters raised complaints about a no-ball that was waist-height. The third umpire took a quick look and determined that the pitch was lawful before ruling Verma out.

Verma and Meg Lanning were both shocked, and this infuriated some spectators who then criticised the poor standards of umpiring despite the availability of technology.

Meg Lanning’s Run-Out: DC vs MI WPL Final Highlights

Following Shafali Verma’s contentious choice, DC captain Meg Lanning started to execute her moves. The strain on new batter Jess Jonassen increased as the MI bowlers continued to chip away with wickets at the other end while she got off to a good start.

She tapped a delivery in the direction of a brief cover and dialled Lanning for a single that might have never been on. When Yastika Bhatia removed the bails and the Mumbai players were in a trance, Lanning was considerably farther away from her starting position. They understood the significance of Lanning’s wicket.

The DC captain was indignant about being let go, and as she walked back to the pavilion, she covered her mouth in case she had used some foul language. The loss of that wicket ended Delhi’s innings and any chance of scoring more than 150 runs in the WPL championship game.

WPL 2023 Winning Moment For MI: DC vs MI WPL Final Highlights

Throughout the league phase, Nat Sciver-batting Brunt’s performance was a little erratic. Yet she demonstrated her value with two spectacular knocks in the pressure-filled WPL playoffs. Her 72* (38) in the Elimination was outstanding, but she will always remember her 60*(55) in a chase and her hitting the winning runs in the championship game.

At 23/2, Harmanpreet Kaur joined Nat Sciver-Brunt, which put MI in trouble. Mumbai reached the point where they required 37 off 23 balls because the seasoned pair made sure there was no more collapse. Even though Harmanpreet’s run-out piqued attention in the chase, Amelia Kerr and Sciver-Brunt both contributed some significant boundaries.

After scoring the winning runs, Sciver-Brunt erupted in relief, and the pair made sure there were no more hiccups. As MI won the WPL 2023 championship, the entire squad flocked to the middle, creating a memorable moment for their supporters.

DC vs MI WPL Final Highlights Score: Playing XIs

Delhi Capitals: Meg Lanning (captain), Shafali Verma, Alice Capsey, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Taniya Bhatia(wk), Jess Jonassen, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Shikha Pandey, Minnu Mani

Mumbai Indians: Hayley Matthews, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque

Must Read:

IPL 2023 Auction: Each Sold Player’s Name and Sold Price – Gyaani Mind